Poor, broken me.

Now that I had done what I previously thought would be impossible, it was time to think about next year. But before that happened, I needed to get my ankles sorted out.

Basically, it was terrible news. I went to the injury clinic where I was told that I had a selection of fresh and healed stress fractures across both feet/ ankles. I was banned from running so that they could have time to heal. He thinks it was from the first race I did, given that I went straight into a 5k with the wrong footwear, unstable park grounds, and no training. It made sense. I had done too much, too soon; exactly what I had hoped to avoid.

A couple of months without running didn’t sound too bad. I’d pick it back up again before Christmas and have a good start to the New Year. Plus, I can still cycle and swim, right? Wrong. The fractures were in such locations that, should I cycle or swim, it could stop the bones from fusing and would set back my recovery. Dammit! What am I meant to do?! Without running, cycling or swimming, I’d lose all my gains from the year! The only thing I could think of was to swim – open-water – without using my legs. So I did.
For the sake of my sanity, I won’t try and recall every swim I did or exact dates for things over the next few months so I’ll sum things up like this:
– I went back every two weeks to see the physio and after a month or so, I was given the all clear for cycling and swimming again. I still wasn’t allowed to use fins (for indoor training) and wasn’t allowed to stand or push/ pull too hard on the bike. That was fine – I didn’t care too much for the fins, anyhow. Also, by this point, we were training on turbo-trainers for the bike so I didn’t have to worry about any extra pressure/ hills if I didn’t want to.
– My ankles healed enough that I was given strengthening exercises to do with a rubber band. They were dull but I did them. There were also some single leg balancing drills which I had to do 3 times a day. I did them at my desk at work but felt pretty stupid stood there on one leg, balancing on a scrunched up towel, with my eyes closed.
– Each time I went, the range of motion in my ankle either didn’t change from the last time, or got marginally better. Either way, not enough to start running again. This meant more time off from running.
– Christmas came and I was keen to get running. I took my family up to Scotland that Christmas and Will would be there too. It would have been really nice to go and hit some snowy trails. Sadly, that was not going to be the case. My next appointment wasn’t until the first week in January so I didn’t dare run a step just in case it put me back anymore.

I had a nice Christmas break with the family then headed back down South and, later that week, went to my appointment. I was allowed to run again! However, to make sure that my ankles were strong enough, I had to take it carefully. Starting with scheduled 10 minute runs and getting longer if I felt alright. Before too long, I was back up to 40+ minute runs and feeling alright. Knowing that my motivation is helped by having an event to train for, I signed up for…

 

…Ironman 70.3 Weymouth. Hey, why not!

Leave a Reply

