Bagging me that free hoodie!

A couple of weeks after the Duck ‘n’ Dash, Dean was still speaking to me, and it was time for the 3rd Sprint in the series. Free hoodie time! N.b. We all know that if you’re paying for races that things aren’t actually free – but it’s nice to think that you’re getting something for you efforts.

Will was back again for this race; however, he was doing the standard distance, instead. Same as the first race, he came to mine the day before, collected our race numbers, drove the bike route, checked our kit, ate copious amounts of spag and salmon, then headed off early the next morning. Once we had finished setting up our transition areas, we headed off to the waterside. Because he was doing the standard race, he would be starting in the swim group after mine. My group was called into the water and then set off. Claire arrived shortly afterwards, as is tradition, and watched as I came out of the water. Again, the cycle was pretty standard – except for one thing… I had been concentrating on my hill work so when the big one appeared in the middle of the lap, I was ready. I got into a lower gear during the slight incline and spun my legs out a little to make sure they were nice and loose. Before I hit the bottom, I actually went up a couple of gears. This required a decent amount of push on the pedals but was a comfortable level for me to do for a period of time. There were quite a few people on this hill so to get past them, I need some immediate power. I geared up one more time, stood up out of my saddle, and went for it. I was up that hill in no time at all! I had overtaken so many other riders and even a few with the fancy tri-bars who had whizzed past me earlier on when it was flatter. It felt awesome. At the top of the hill, I made sure not to slow down so I hit the gears up some more, tucked down onto the drops and pedaled like fury. I did this for a good 4-5 minutes before finding my race gear again and taking some ‘active recovery’. I also had a gel and a good glug of drink. A few of the tri-bar riders past me eventually but it took a fair amount of time for them to catch up.
Back at transition, I put my bike back and grabbed my running kit. Like at the Duck ‘n’ Dash, I went for the sockless option for running. It saved a bit of time and wasn’t too uncomfortable over the fairly short distance. Now I was used to running (much more than I was at the start!) I got on fairly well. Still only managed a 30 minute 5k but that’s just the pace the running gods gave me. Having said that, this was a full run – no stopping! I did feel, a few times, that I should stop and check my ankle again as it was not feeling great but I wanted to run at least one race without stopping. So I kept going. Coming down the finish line, I finished in 1:43:16. Two and a half minute off race 2; 11 and a half from race 1! I was more than happy with those numbers! Even more happy with my new hoodie!

I joined my family and we got ready for Will to come in off the bike leg. My ankle was complaining a lot so I just took off my shoes and walked around without anything on them for a while. It felt really nice having the grass on my feet. I didn’t think at the time that this could potentially be a feasible way of sorting my problems.
As Will was doing double my distances (and we were a similar speed on the bike) I knew we had a bit of time to wait. We had to wait a little longer than expected because he got a flat part way round his second lap. I’m still to have that issue (touch wood). When he eventually turned up, I got to join in with the cheering! It’s great fun. He wore his running trainers on the bike so was a speedy transition then off he went on the run. Being a runner, he completed it with ease. We watched as he passed other runners, even lapping a few.
Great celebrations at the end as we had now both done what we had come for and, to top it off, it was a lovely warm day.

Now, what did I want to do next? I know, get that ankle fixed!!

Time for the obligatory post-race photo!

Leave a Reply

